Welcome to discuss the 2024 Uniarts Helsinki Conferment Ceremony: open campus events on 8 February 2023

Uniarts Helsinki masters’ and doctors’ conferment ceremony will take place on 16-18 August 2024. Conferment ceremony is the biggest celebration of the university community and a festive end of university studies, which is traditionally celebrated for several days. The ceremony is a unique celebration that will leave valuable memories long into the future.

In accordance with the 2018 festivities, the conferment celebrations in 2024 include a celebratory concert, a conferment ceremony, a procession, a church service, a non-denominational event and a dinner, as well as other events specified later.

Discussion events on both campuses on 8 February

The committee preparing the conferment ceremony organises open discussion sessions on both campuses on 8 February 2023, where the community will have the opportunity to give the committee feedback and ideas for the future already in this early stage of planning.

The conferment ceremony programme will be discussed at the events as well as many concrete issues related to the ceremony. These include, for example, swords, wreaths, rings, and how different art forms are present in the ceremony. The committee also wishes to hear the community’s thoughts on the planning of the rector’s chain.

Discussion sessions on 8 February 2023

  • 2–1 pm Auditorium 1 Kookos
  • Töölö campus: 16–17 Agora of Musiikkitalo

Conferment ceremony committee appointed

The rector has appointed a conferment ceremony committee whose task is to organise the event within the budget assigned by the rector. The committee makes a proposal for honorary doctorates to the rector based on the presentations of the academies and takes care of the ceremony’s internal and external communication. The committee is organised in an expedient manner and can establish different working groups.

Members of the committee

  • Olli-Pekka Martikainen, chair ja Juha Ojala, vice chair – Sibelius Academy
  • Hanna Johansson, ordinary member, Michaela Bränn, substitute – Academy of Fine Arts
  • Ville Sandqvist, ordinary member ja Leena Rouhiainen, substitute – Theatre Academy
  • Johannes Pessi, ordinary member ja Kristian Saarinen, substitute – Masters’ representatives
  • Lauri Grünthal, representative of the Student Union
  • Nelli Kuokka, ordinary member ja Mirva Niemi, substitute – communications
  • Soili Sirenne, conferment ceremony project manager ja committee secretary
  • Doctors’ representatives (ordinary member and substitute) will be named at a later date

The committee can supplement its composition with experts it considers necessary.